Workshops

Whether an artist paints landscapes, still life, portraits, or animals, David's workshops focus on skills needed to create the illusion of depth. Whether the fold of a piece of fabric, a mountain in the distance, a stream running through the forest or a bird perched on a limb, David believes "it's the grand illusion of depth that brings a painting to life."

He offers workshops primarily for intermediate and advanced artists. He wants artists to "own" each procedure whether a specific wash or recognizing where the dominant dark should be placed, wanting each to confidently fulfill their own artistic vision. 

David loves the opportunity to work with artists across the country and is looking forward to this year. If you or your organization is interested in a workshop in your area, please email Deanna Rankin at rankinworkshops@gmail.com

High Country Landscapes, Colorado with David Rankin
Workshop Type:
Classroom Style
Class Size:
20 persons
Date(s):
Tuesday, 23 July, 2019 to Thursday, 25 July, 2019
Learn to observe Nature's value structure the way the old Masters did, and how to employ that skill to create memorable  paintings. +Read More
Painting Birds I & II, Ohio with David Rankin
Workshop Type:
Classroom Style
Class Size:
18 persons
Date(s):
Friday, 28 June, 2019 to Sunday, 30 June, 2019, Friday, 31 May, 2019 to Sunday, 2 June, 2019
The Grand Illusion, South Carolina with David Rankin
Workshop Type:
Classroom Style
Class Size:
12 persons
Date(s):
Tuesday, 21 May, 2019 to Thursday, 23 May, 2019
Painting Lowcountry, South Carolina with David Rankin
Workshop Type:
Classroom Style
Date(s):
Tuesday, 7 May, 2019 to Friday, 10 May, 2019
Building an Emotional Focal Point, Ohio with David Rankin
Workshop Type:
Classroom Style
Class Size:
20 persons
Date(s):
Saturday, 6 April, 2019 to Sunday, 7 April, 2019